Student Spotlight: Keli Ganey

Keli Ganey is a First-Year History major with a concentration in Public History. The following is her responses to interview questions written by the History Department’s work studies. Her responses are the part of a series of responses gathered from Messiah University history students about classes, interests, and their experience as a student during a pandemic.

Interview Question: What history courses are you taking this semester?

Keli’s Answer: This semester I am taking Dr. Fea’s America in Age of the Revolution, Dr. Wilson’s Reformation and Early Modern Europe, Dr. Myers’ US History survey since 1865 and Topics in Public History course. Along with these, I am in my second year of Latin for language and history purposes.

Q: In your personal research, or in your classes, what is something you have learned about that was interesting?

A: In Dr. Fea’s class we discussed the multiple schools of thought surrounding the revolution. I never knew that there were different schools of thought, and I realized that I had only been taught one perspective. This class has really opened my eyes to the many layers of the American Revolution.

Q: How has the COVID-19 pandemic affected your life as a student?

A: The pandemic has taken away student teacher relationships because everything has moved to email or zoom. Personally, I like being able to pop in and have conversations with my teachers about upcoming projects, concepts I may not understand, or just to catch up and get to know them better. When I first visited Messiah, I was really impressed with the student-faculty connections, but sadly Covid has taken away that important part of Messiah’s community.

Q: Are you involved in any research, project, or internship right now?

A: As of right now I am working on a research paper covering the relationship of George and Martha Washington during the American Revolution. I am also working on an Online Museum project which as of right now is titled “The Humanity of Christ.” This online exhibit utilizes sketches, drawings, and a newly found painting from the Philadelphia Museum of Art. I hope to capture and analyze Artist’s depictions of Jesus during his teenage years.

Q: If there was one thing you could tell upcoming history students, what would it be?

A: There are so many opportunities and paths you can take within the History Department. It’s also an incredibly flexible major so you can tailor your path specifically to what you’d like to do, and even if you don’t know what path you want yet that’s ok too! The professors here will work with you and help you find the path you’re called to be on.

We would like to thank Keli for her responses, as well as her excellent advice to upcoming history students!

Leave a comment