Student Spotlight: Molly Elpas

Molly Elspas is a senior public history major with a minor in digital public humanities. The following are her answers to interview questions written by the History Department’s work studies. Her responses are part of a series of responses gathered from Messiah University history students about classes, interests, and their experience as a student during a pandemic.

Interview Question: What history courses are you taking this semester?

Molly: I am actually only taking one in-class history course this semester, because I’m working on the second semester of my honors thesis with Dr. Michael. I am in Museums, Monuments, and Memorials with Dr. Myers.

Q: In your personal research, or in your classes, what is something you have learned about that was interesting?

A: The museums class I am taking is super interesting because it addresses a lot of the practical considerations that go into working in the field of public history. We have had a bunch of class discussions about the role of race and ethnicity in the making of museum narratives. It’s been really enlightening to reexamine the stories we tell in museums and how they are perceived by different demographics.

Q: How has the COVID-19 pandemic affected your life as a student?

A: Last semester it was a little hard to adjust, especially with my thesis, because a lot of the research I had planned to do was either not possible or moved online because of COVID restrictions. It has taken a little adjusting to get used to new policies, especially with how often things have been cancelled. But I think overall I’ve adjusted pretty well. I’ve been able to do the research I wanted and have even gotten to compete in athletics.

Q: Are you involved in any research, project, or internship right now?

A: I am. Since I’m part of the honors program, I have to complete a year-long project and present it by the end of April. After taking African American history last spring, I decided to conduct my research on Redlining and racially restrictive covenants in Harrisburg. Having worked with the Digital Harrisburg Initiative for most of my undergraduate experience, I have become pretty invested in the stories of those minority communities displace by the Capitol Park Extensions in 1911, which destroyed their neighborhoods. It’s been amazing to compile all the research I’ve done over the years and connect it to national trends. Hopefully by the end of this process, I’ll have a physical and virtual exhibit on housing segregation and its legacy today.

Q: If there was one thing you could tell upcoming history students, what would it be?

A: If I had any advice, it would be to take the opportunities that come to you, even if they seem a little out of the box at the time. The history department at Messiah does a really good job of providing students with extracurricular employments and internship opportunities that provide experience in a multitude of public history fields. I’ve held many jobs on campus both within the department and for other organizations and each has been a super valuable experience. Take chances because they may end up being something you want to do for the rest of your life.

We would like to thank Molly for her responses and telling us about her fascinating research!

Leave a comment